Andhra Pradesh win national blind cricket title | Cricket News


NEW DELHI: Andhra Pradesh maintained their dominance by winning their fourth national blind cricket title – third in a row – on Thursday. In the summit clash, Andhra defeated Karnataka by 27 runs at the Arun Jaitley Stadium here.
Batting first, Andhra put up 231 for the loss of 3 wickets in their allotted 20 overs. Venkateshwara Rao starred with the bat, scoring 85 off just 36 balls. In reply, Karnataka fought hard but could manage 204 for the loss of 3 wickets in their stipulated 20 overs, falling short by 27 runs. Venkateshwara Rao was declared the Man of the Match.
Meenakshi Lekhi, the Union minister of state for external affairs, was the chief guest and she applauded the spirit of the players.
“I extend my best wishes to the participating teams. I am also very excited about the national women’s blind cricket tournament to be held in Bangalore next year,” she said.
Andhra had won all its five league matches, while Karnataka came out on top in four of their five league games.
The tournament was organised by The Cricket Association for the Blind in India (CABI) in association with the Samarthanam Trust for the Disabled.
India currently holds the Blind Cricket T20 World Cup title, which they won in 2018.


Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! The News Motion is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Leave a comment